DUI
Home » DUI

Support And A Sympathetic Ear After Your DUI Arrest

The last thing you need after a DUI arrest is a condescending lecture. At Ziliak Law Office, we know what a devastating effect a DUI arrest can have on your life. It’s not just losing your driver’s license, it can also mean losing your job due to jail time, years of increased insurance rates and social stigma. This affects not only you but your family and loved ones as well.

Most people who are arrested for DUI are good and decent people who made a mistake. I believe that everyone deserves a chance to minimize the negative consequences of their mistakes.

There Is More To A DUI Case Than You Think

The fact that your license is taken away at the time of your arrest does not mean that you are automatically guilty. A DUI arrest is no different than any other arrest — you have the right to defend yourself in court. There are a number of things about your arrest that can be challenged:

  • Was the field sobriety test administered correctly?
  • Did the arresting officer follow the proper protocol on the breathalyzer test?
  • Were you read your Miranda warning?
  • Was there sufficient cause for stopping your vehicle?

Our goal is to get the charges dropped, but we can also help to get your charges and fines reduced. The court will assign a public defender if you choose not to hire an attorney, but public defenders typically have a much higher caseload and usually can’t give you the kind of time and attention you need to defend your case.

Penalties For A DUI Conviction In Indiana

The penalties for a DUI conviction vary depending on the circumstances of your case and whether you have a criminal record or prior DUI arrests. Listed below are the penalties for first, second and third-time offenders.

   First Time Offender

  • Maximum of one year in jail
  • Minimum court fees of $300 and fines up to $3000
  • Driver’s license suspension for two years

   Second Time Offender

  • Minimum of five days in jail up to three years
  • Fines up to $10,000
  • Driver’s license suspension for a minimum of 180 days and up to two years

   Third Time Offender

  • Minimum of 10 days in jail up to three years
  • Fines up to $10,000
  • Driver’s license suspension for one to 10 years

You may also be placed on probation, required to perform community service, submit to tests for drugs and alcohol and face other terms of probation.

Contact Ziliak Law Office, An Indiana DUI Firm

If you’ve been arrested for DUI, call Ziliak Law Office at 317-953-2644 or fill out our online form.